A C&O Canal Gallery

If I ever move away from the Mid-Atlantic region, the C&O Canal National Historical Park is one of the things I’ll miss most. It extends for 184.5 miles along the Potomac River from Georgetown in Washington, D.C., to Cumberland in western Maryland. A wonderful place to walk or bike, the C&O Canal is a local and national treasure.

The scenery along the canal towpath is amazingly diverse. Intriguing historic structures and ruins await your discovery all along it. You never know what wildlife you might run across—snapping turtle, egret, beaver, otter, fox, fawn. The mood of the canal changes by the hour, day, and season.

My first bike trip on the canal in 2004.

I’ve walked and biked sections of the canal countless times and biked its entire length twice. My first trip in 2004, a three-day solo ride from Cumberland to Georgetown, was my first bicycle camping trip. My second in 2008 was an Adventure Cycling tour. Our group rode in the opposite direction. In Cumberland, we switched to the Great Allegheny Passage (GAP) trail and continued on to the outskirts of Pittsburgh, another 150 miles away.

But it’s the day-to-day walks along different stretches of the canal that have brought me the most pleasure. I can see and experience much more at a walking pace than even at a slow cruising speed on a bike.

These days I’m not doing much traveling to write about, so I thought I’d sort through the hundreds of images I’ve taken along the canal over the years and assemble some of them into a photo gallery. Here it is.

Along the Towpath

Structures

Critters

The Floods

Widewater

David Romanowski, 2020

5 thoughts on “A C&O Canal Gallery

  1. Pingback: Great Falls: Maryland and Virginia – Prose and Pictures

  2. Pingback: Great Falls: Maryland and Virginia | Bike Walk Drive

  3. Pingback: Big Slackwater on the C&O Canal | Bike Walk Drive

Leave a comment